Cyber Grandpas: Staying in Touch Across the Miles

My niece’s grandpas are among her biggest fans.  I didn’t realize how much until they both sent me an invitation to join Facebook.  Satya’s dad sent me an invitation to join Facebook last week and yesterday it was my sister-in-law’s dad who sent out the invitation.  I thought it was pretty funny that my father in law in India is now urging me to join Facebook.  Very weird….

 

Skype was a whole new experience for me last summer.  Last summer Satya’s mom dressed me in an extra saree so I could be presented via Skype to Satya’s uncle (his father’s brother) in Scotland.  Satya’s uncle was visiting his son in Scotland to see a new grandson.  When Satya’s parents returned to India, Satya and I continued using Skype to talk with his parents.  I even bought a computer camera/microphone for my parents for Christmas so I that I could Skype with them.  My family is slower to catch on to the wonders of Skype….perhaps it is the lack of babies?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann Z
    Jun 19, 2009 @ 03:17:58

    My family didn’t really use Skype until they realized they could talk with my 2 year old on it. My brother was similarly introduced to his future wife’s family in India via Skype.

    Too funny about your in-laws sending you facebook invites. None of the older generation in either my family or my husband’s are on facebook.

    Reply

  2. DewdropDream
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 13:37:36

    I’ve tried to get my folks to use it, in vain. Well I suppose living in a place where the internet connectivity would give a snail a superiority complex explains it somewhat… not to mention a computer that is never used or upgraded 🙂

    I don’t like getting FB requests from relatives… it’s a little too intrusive… thank the lord for the limited profile viewing feature!

    Yes, I can understand how frustrating it could be to try to use FB with a slow connection. I try to use my husband’s computer for it whenever possible!

    Hmm, I hadn’t thought about the limited profile viewing feature. I was the last of my siblings to join, but did invite my parents and aunt…..hmm…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

