Back Again

Satya and I arrived late last night from our week of hectic planning and wedding celebration.  Sunday’s wedding/renewal of vows ceremony went smoothly and was very beautiful.  Monday’s ceremony at my grandmother’s nursing home was bittersweet.  My 90 year old grandmother has dementia.  I feel very lucky and blessed she was able to participate.  The whole weekend was very emotional and at times bittersweet (thinking about my grandmother, realizing Satya’s parents are leaving for India today, realizing again that everyone we care about will never be in the same place at the same time on this earth, etc.)

 

To everyone who eloped, my advice is to have some kind of traditional family ceremony.  It meant a lot to me to have my family all around and support me and Satya.  Satya and I both agree that the ceremonies did change something about our relationship.  We aren’t sure what, but we can feel it.  Sorry that isn’t very clear, but maybe some of you will know what I mean.

 

To all those in mixed relationships, I think that having the family ceremony is even more crucial because it allows the families to meet and get to know each other.  I think it reassures the families to realize that they do share so many values.  One of my favorite memories was of Satya’s birthday supper at an Indian restaurant.  His sister and parents took a lot of care to show my family how to eat the food, and to describe the food.  Everyone had a few good laughs together.  Another piece of advice is to have a family gathering after all the stress and emotion of the ceremonies.  Everyone is much more relaxed and ready to have fun.

 

 Satya and I are very blessed.  Our wedding count so far is 1 Jewish blessing ceremony, 1 ELCA ceremony, and 1 Catholic blessing ceremony.  Next spring will be the grande finale….1 Hindu ceremony in India.

 

As I get time and energy (I didn’t eat or sleep properly the whole week) I will write more about this past week.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gori Girl
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 03:30:15

    I’m glad to hear everything went well!

    Reply

  2. minnesotameetskarnataka
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 13:59:33

    Hi Gori Girl,

    Welcome and thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

